GREAT LAKES 10/10THS

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

101stpathfinder

Trading miles for memories
FJR Supporter
Reaction score
When I first joined the Iron Butt Association a few years ago I studied the list of certificate rides available. I made a list of "To Do" rides that I wanted to accomplish. The Great Lakes rides were on that list. So living in south Florida, it only made sense to ride north and do them all in

one trip. I added up the mileage and found it to be around 9,800 miles. With the difficulty obtaining witnesses and cost, it made sense to roll all the rides into a 10/10ths. This saved plenty of time

and hassle of obtaining witnesses and saving some money also with the "Ride Within a Ride" rules.

I put out an invite on the FJR forum thinking there would be no interest. I was wrong. I tweaked

my plans a bit and came up with a rough outline for a ride plan.

THE RIDE NORTH

I returned home from work around 10 pm. I went to the fire station nearby and handed the witness

form to the fire fighters I had pre-arranged for. The alarm went off and ALL of them had to depart

the station, leaving me waiting for their return. There was a picnic table behind the station I

laid down on. As I laid there in a light rain, a grin came to my face as it occurred to me that this scene was merely a foreshadow of things to come. The fire fighters returned soon and willingly signed my witness form for the start. It was now 1030 pm and I had until 4 am to get some rest.3:15 am came fast and I scurried around getting ready. I went to the gas station where I frequently started my rides, My official departure time was 3:59 am July 16th.

Now I had done a 10/10ths before, but with all the rides within this ride, it made planning most difficult. I was bound by an overall schedule and so often times I had to sacrifice a solid ride