Just bought a black one

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Docholiday

Reaction score
I have been riding a liquid silver 2003 FJR since Oct 2002 and have had a great time even though my bike suffered through the "tic". Mother Yamaha made it all better but I was still bothered by the heat and the lack of ABS. I have been watching the GenII bikes to see if all the wrinkles have been worked out. I even tried the BMW1200GT, the Honda ST1300, and the Kawasaki Concours, the BMW was tempting but the price tag was a bit too steep. In the end I liked the 2008 FJR best. The black color looks sharp and as far as I can tell, Yamaha has gotten everything right with this model. Smoother than my 2003. Awesome brakes. It seems to handle a bit more sluggishly than my silver bike but the suspension is superior. The stock seat is better. The handlebar position seems comparable to my GenI bike with Heli risers. They have even made it easy to put on the frame sliders. I just wish they had the option of a cruise control. The throttle doesn't seem as stiff as my 2003. So far I'm very happy. Can't wait for the break in period to be over so I can put on some real miles. After paying for the new bike there aren't too many funds left over for farkles, but the basic bike doesn't seem to need much improvement. Congratulations Yamaha for a job well done.

Docholiday

Good choice!

I considered the BMWs, also. Soooo glad the FJR won. I respect BMW riders, but don't want their motorcycles anymore.

Get the Madco: Clicky It works great, and looks like it belongs on the 08.

Last edited by a moderator:
saw a pick of a black one today , looks sweet, congrats