New to FJR-On to Newfoundland

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Folks, I’m relatively new to the FJR. Got my 05 model last October. Just crossed the 5,000 mile mark. My favorite motorcycle to date. I retired in January and a friend asked me if I wanted to join him and another rider on a trip to Newfoundland and Nova Scotia in June/July. Of course I jumped on board. We will be entering Canada in Quebec City and taking 138 up to a point in Newfoundland that is directly north of NS and then taking ferry down. Some of it will be on hard packed dirt. QUESTION. Has anyone run the dirt roads on the FJR up that way? I’m running Dunlop RS3’s right now. I see continental makes TKC 70 both fronts rear. Has anyone run those on dirt. How did the FJR do? I ride a KLR on gravel a lot. I can handle a bike in those conditions but if it’s wet I’d like to have a little bit of traction . I’ve read a lot of reviews on tires here but not much for “off road” except for a video of someone doing single track on the FJR. That was crazy. But encouraging. Also I’m looking for a tank bag that will work with my steering stem phone mount. All the tank bags I’ve seen look like the sit to high and will obstruct my view of the phone. Greatful for any tips. Thanks🏍️……….

138 doesn't go to anywhere in Newfoundland. You'll need to be more specific on your routing.
Two usual ways to get to Newfoundland and Labrador by bike or car.

1) Ferry from North Sydney: