Right turn, stall and dump

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimstan

Reaction score
Stiff throttle spring could give you a lot more than a sore hand.

Maybe this might help someone else,

I am New to the FJR but not to riding 30 + years .

My 07 FJR , idles fine, rides great however A right hand turn from a stop can be an unpleasant surprise ,

( turn wheel, let out clutch, give throttle, stall, DUMP BIKE) .

I started to look at the bike and what I was doing during a right hand turn.

(Could happen on left turn but the corner is much more gradual)

1. At stop making a right hand turn you/I want to stay in the right hand lane so as not to cross into on coming traffic.

2. Slowly let out clutch and slowly increase throttle, with the FJR being so Strong and quick to much clutch or to much throttle and you could launch yourself into the on coming trafic.

Hear is what I found was happening to me.

My throttle spring is so dam strong that all I was doing was fighting the spring, throwing off my clutch, throttle timing when I should have had A smooth increase in the RPM,s matched to my clutch release to pevent stalling.

I will be slipping the throttle spring tonight and hopefully that will solve my problem with Right hand turn, stall and dump,s.

After looking through all the threads of similar problems the main fix seems to be trying to get a smooth throttle response from idle .

Well thats my two cents.. Hope it helps someone.

Jim

I did the same thing!