Table Saws

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimLor

Reaction score
I know opinions are tough to get here, but would like some about a table saw.

I am a competent woodworker - have made bookcases, table or two, etc. I bought a cheap-ass foreign table saw 10 years ago knowing it was a cheap-ass table saw and it has proven itself over the years. I need to get a "decent" table saw.

I would like a;

- Cabinet vice contractor saw -- I don't need to move it around

- Want a 4" connection for dust collection

- Decent motor - pully not direct drive I don't think I "need" a 3 Hp, but would like at least 1.75

- Prefer cast iron extensions to stamped steel

- That's about it, a basic, decent saw

I've looked at (internet, not physically) a couple of the usual suspects (DeWalt, Delta, Hitatchi, Jet, Grizzley) and at least one I've never heard of - Steel City. I've read some pretty decent reviews of the Steel City saw which costs ~$900. They have one with a granite top and riving slot for another 150 or so.

I would welcome thoughts, comments, recommendation, and your experiences with a particular saw.

Thanks!

SF,

Jim

The Grizzly saws get decent reviews, you might try to pick one up at the tent sales they have twice a year. They sell new equipment that has bee damaged in shipping or some other way. I bought a 15" planer at one of their sales for $500, put $40 bucks worth of parts in it, and saved $150 off a new not broken one. That things will turn wood into chips quickly!

On the other hand my uncle in-law just removed the ends of his fingers with a table saw, so I am pretty sure he would recommend the saw stop saws. ;)

If yur into ATGATT for m/c riding - you should do the same with your table saw!

SawStop

https://www.sawstop.com/

:clapping:

hot_dog_white_frame.jpg