throttle cable slack

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

818Guy

Reaction score
Newbie question specific to a 2006 FJRAE.

How do I know (or find out) if I have any throttle cable slack?

The on/off snap of the throttle I get is getting to be too much. I have over 5k miles on my FJR and thought over time I'd "learn" how to deal with this... it's not happening.

I do have a PCIII on order but I wanted to check my throttle cable slack as well (before I install the PCIII).

Thanks for any info.

On my bike, I noticed the cables moved when turning the throttle. I tightened it up to where they barley moved. Seems to work well for me.

Test it by having the engine running in neutral and turn the handlebars full deflection a few times each direction to make sure there are no issues.

I'm not an expert, but i did sleep in a holiday in express last night.

Newbie question specific to a 2006 FJRAE.
How do I know (or find out) if I have any throttle cable slack?

The on/off snap of the throttle I get is getting to be too much. I have over 5k miles on my FJR and thought over time I'd "learn" how to deal with this... it's not happening.

I do have a PCIII on order but I wanted to check my throttle cable slack as well (before I install the PCIII).

Thanks for any info.
Using only your thumb and index finger gently twist the throttle. Is there any free play before you feel resistance and/or a slight increase in rpm? If so, that's from slack in the cable.