Introductions

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

karstenp

Reaction score
Thought I would start off with a formal introduction and a little of my story.... I know a couple of you and others I saw at the IB5000 but did not get a chance to meet you.

I work as a Professional Mechanical Engineer at a Nuclear Power Plant and live in Ontario, Canada. I will be a rookie in the IBR and I will be riding a heavily farkled 07. My first Saddlesore 1600K was in 2008. I have only 2 years of rally experience with 7 rallies completed.... Minuteman, Cape Fear, MD2020, Minnesota 2010 (my first multi day), IB5000, and Rendezvous (twice). My best finish was 2nd place in my last rally this year.... Rendezvous.

Looking forward to getting to know fellow IBR FJR riders...

Perry

Here's the Coles notes version of my riding life.

I'll be an IBR rookie in 2011. Although I had toured Canada and the U.S.A. on a bike in the summer of 1978, my rally/IBA career started when another North Bay rider (Cameron Sanders) talked me into doing the 2004 Blackfly rally. Since then Cam and I had travelled sometimes great distances to do rallies. They included three Minuteman 1000's, two Void rallies, last year's Cape Fear, three Rendezvous rallies in Quebec, three Not Superman rallies - all of different lengths, and a Northern Exposure 1600k rally - the followup to the Blackfly.

Some of the IBA rides we've done SS1, SS2, BBG, Great Lakes Gold, and several others.