Windy Ridge Mt. St. Helens

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fontanaman

Robin Trower
Reaction score
I started riding around the Mt. St. Helens area in 1968 on a Honda Trail 90. My parents would go Huckleberry picking around Mt St. Helens and Mt. Adams. We would lash the Honda to the bumper mounted rack on my Dad's pickup truck, drive to the Huckleberry field and I would get to ride the Forest Service roads in the area. For me it was the ultimate in summer recreation. I was all of 12 years old at the time.

Sometime in the late 1970's I road a CB450 Honda to the west side of Mt. St. Helens. I was near Harry Truman's cabin watching climbers head up the slope to have their fun. I picked up a piece of pumice about 2 inches in diameter and through it into Spirit Lake. To may amazement the rock floated. Wow man, look at that rock float I exclaimed, as we picked up more rocks and absent mindedly tossed them into the lake.

Those are my earliest recollections of Mt. St. Helens. I didn't often visit Mt. St. Helens for Mt. Rainier aka The Mountain, a National Park, is a lot closer to Seattle and a lot bigger too. Washingtonian's treated Mt. St. Helens and Mt. Adams like some lousy unloved bastard child for we had The Mountain. Anyplace else in the USA Mt. St. Helens and Mt. Adams would be National Parks. And so it goes.....

All that changed on 8:30am on May 30, 1980 when Mt. St. Helens exploded loosing 1300 feet of mountain in a matter of seconds. At the time I was sitting in my apartment, reading the newspaper and listening to the radio. Little did I know how good this was going to get!

Having a genuine killer volcano in your geological backyard brings in a lot of tourist. No longer is Mt. St. Helens treated like a spare change mountain.