Newbie questions on what to buy

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TravelinLite

Reaction score
If this posting is not in the right place, please let me know and I'll move it. Also, I am not sure if these questions have been answered before, so apologies if so.

I am looking to buy an FJR and need to learn some things from you FJR veterans. First, about me and my riding style. I currently ride a gl1800 (Goldwing), and although I have over 50 years of riding experience, the kid in me still likes to hang off the seat. To enable me to ride the way I like, my gl1800 is running the Traxxion Full Monte (fork springs and AK-20s), tapered steering head bearings, fork brace and a Penske shock (with a modified clevis) riding on top of a 195/55-16, 18-pound car tire. As you provide guidance, please keep in mind that I don't want to alter my riding style (fun factor) so I will want a capable scoot.

The FJR would need Cruise control, ABS and adequate suspension. Traction control and a hook-up for an mp3 player would be nice as well. On my gl1800 I can control the music from the factory handlebar controls.

Sooo, here are some questions:

1) What is the difference between Gen-I, Gen-II and Gen-III FJRs?

2) Is there a Gen-IV?

3) Do FJRs have mp3 players or a hook-up for an mp3 player, and, handlebar controls for the volume of the music, changing of songs, etc?

4) Would I be better off to buy new or to purchase an older, low mileage FJR and add cruise control? I assume electronic cruise (not a throttle lock) is available for the older FJRs...right?

5) What is the consensus regarding the new ES forks versus the non-ES forks? From what I have read I am leaning towards non-ES forks and then rebuilding to suit me if required.