My Clutch is not working - after I replaced parts

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

birkdale10

Reaction score
2005 FJr. I have been having minor clutch problems for a while, and I thought I would do an at-home fix.

(I have mentioned this before in my previous posts: I am a crappy mechanic)

I got all the parts that fit in the clutch lever. If you have access to an exploded diagram of the clutch (Front master cylinder 2), I bought

.Cylinder Kit, Master Clutch 5JW-W0099-00-00

.Rod, Push 3GM-26464-00-00
.Bush 3GM-26455-00-00
I am POSITIVE I installed them correctly, in the right order.

I then started using the mityvac. And I have gone through half a bottle of Dot 4 fluid. I have checked the clutch pull and it 'seems' fine. Not too hard, not too soft. I start it in neutral and starts fine. I pull the lever and push it into gear - either down for first or up for second. It clunks and dies. The clutch is simply not working.

One of the parts on the master clutch kit is the outer rubber boot. It is the outermost part of that kit. The Push Rod goes into that. QUESTION: The push rod is a rod that has two...I'm not sure what to call them...not grooves, but two circles around the rod. It LOOKS as if the end of the rubber boot is supposed to go into the gap between the two circles. That is what I have done. Is this the correct thing to do?

When I was removing the old parts, this boot I just talked about is worn. The new one is noticably firmer. The old one's rubber is much more soft and pliable.

I am desperate for help. I would be happy to give someone a phone number if they thought they could help me figure this out tonight.

try using a ty wrap or velcro, or just a wrapped bunji cord to hold the clutch lever in overnight. This will allow any small bubbles to float out.

Every time I bleed the clutch on an FJR, I use this technique.