Valve Check Assistance Requested

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeffs

Reaction score
Greetings,

I live in Mulvane, KS (just south of Wichita) and I am in the process of performing my first valve adjustment. I have checked all the valves and I have a couple that will require new shims.

I have a shim kit so I am ready to go. What I am requesting is if there is anyone in the area that would be willing to come over and watch me perform the shim change. I have read all the posts, and have a pretty good understanding on how to do it, but since this is my first time I would feel a lot better if someone watched me and made sure I did not mess it up.

I will provide the beer, all you need to do is make sure I don't make a catastrophic mistake.

I work first shift and am home evenings. I can be reached at 316-371-3893 or [email protected]

Thanks,

Jeff S

yamafitter did a real good excel spread sheet for when you do your valves.

Link

Use the spread sheet and record all the shim & clearance values.

It really is quite easy, the hardest part is making sure you get the cam chain right on the exhaust cam first.

There are plenty of posts on the procedure.

Last edited by a moderator:
Kansas... The middle of nowhere.

Pretty sure yer on yer own man. Read up what Bill has posted and whatever you do, don't forget to ty wrap the timing chain!

Sanity check!

Thanks for the spread sheet link. After taking a deep breath and re-reading the valve check how-to and the manual I feel confident that I have the lobes in the proper orientation, 10:00 and 2:00. I checked them in the order the manual states 1, 2, 4, 3.

Now here is my issue. All the valves are loose....yes, all of them. On the intake I can slide a .14mm feeler gauge on all intake valves and on the exhaust I can slide a .178mm on all exhaust valves.