Howly Mowley, Couple clicks and I got a new bike

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cdogman

Bad Boy
Reaction score
I started playing with my suspension a bit and WOW!! what a difference.

I generally ride reasonably hard in the twisties. I have only had my 06 for about 7-8 months and figured I would just get to know the bike as it is then play some to see what happens.

When I bought the bike I played with the compression dampening (without knowing what it was) and set it as it turns out, to full dampening. Front of the bike rode like a tank and I thought that was just the way it was (since I did now know what I had done)

So, fast forward........ A couple of weeks ago I adjusted the dampening to the middle (I still thought it was the preload, but I was wrong) Anyway the bike was much more comfortable but began to "Pogo" a bit when pressing pretty hard in turns at two up.

Yesterday I finally pulled out the MOM and looked all the stuff up. With the help of some folks here I now understood better what each thing does and adjusted them yet again.

Front end

My Front preload is second from hardest.

My Compression dampening is 15 clicks from softest (just over half way)

My Rebound dampening is 15 clicks from softest (just over half way)

Rear shock is 15 clicks from softest too (just over half way)

Preload at soft for 1 up

This will be my baseline and I will go from here

I am about 275 lbs, Bike has @@ 5400 miles

Bags on

E52 Givi on

This bike is a whole new animal........ Sweet. I canot wait to push it a bit and see how it reacts. BUT now that I understand the adjustments I wan further tune it. The bike feels like it is on rails yet is compliant to road changes

This is fun

Last edited by a moderator: