Can anyone help? Looking for help picking a new Windshield

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Omar

Reaction score
New Owner of a 2008 FJR and hate the stock windshield. It makes a lot of noise and buffeting at any speed above 40 mph. I'm 5'9" tall and a 30" inseam. I don't care about the looks so much but do care about the function the most. What can be said for the comparison of Rifle, CeeBailey, CalSci, VStream? Is there any one source that compares the four or more?

Just my experience, but the CalSci sucks, mine was off-center from day one where it would scrape the LHS mirror stock in the full down position. Also, the finish is home-mades rough...

I've been using the CeeBaileys (+2"+2" w/flip) for around 3 years and like it.

VStream has had good reviews from many users, but gets a bit hot in summer.

VStream is alright in summer, run my shorty shield on spacers in the summer, and the Vstream on spacer the rest of the three seasons. Been keeping me wind free recently and it's been 30-50 degrees.

I picked up a Cal Sci from a forum member for half price and it's everything I needed. May not be the same spit and polish as some others but at 75 to 80 mph over the mountain passes in upper 20 to lower 30 degree temps, one barley needs to lower the face shield all the way. To each his own but the med. sized Cal Sci satisfies my needs for winter riding. It had the larger opening and I did modify that a bit to reduce the size of the opening. Comfortable and quiet although I do wear ear plugs. The proper size has a lot to do with being satisfied.

As the weather warms I'll be switching back to the original.

Keep Going!

Last edited by a moderator:
I use the AHAMAY touring screen with spacers and it works well for me. That said, the make/model of your helmet can often make more of a difference than the w/s.