Doing a Fly and Rent, Which Bike should I Rent?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moon Man

Reaction score
I got the go ahead to go out and visit some relatives in Palm Springs before our third child is due. I don't have the time to ride out there so i am going to fly in and do a 3-day rental through eaglerider.

I obviously have the FJR already, my dad who will be coming with has a Triumph Thunderbird 1600 so I have some cruiser experience. I ride spirited but sane.

Here are the bikes to choose from (prices are 3 day rentals):

1. Any Harley, I sort of like the road glide (420)
  2. Sportster 883 (282)
  3. Goldwing (465)
  4. ST 1300 (372)
  5. BMW R1200 GS (465)
  6. BMW R1200 RT (465)
  7. Piaggio MP3 400 (255)

Things to keep in Mind:

• Storage is Good, which is bad for the GS and the Sportster
  • Weather protection is good too, we will be riding warm desert and snowy mountains
  • I am leaning toward the ST1300, RT, or Road Glide

What would you choose and why?

I vote for the Piaggio.

Remember, scooters are like...........fun to ride till your friends see you on one. Don't let your friends see you! :tease:

Seriously though, the RT or the ST. Given the prices, probably the ST unless you had a hard on to try the Bimmer.

I've rented the R1200RT and it was an absolute blast to ride. The wheezing boxer doesn't have the get up & go of an FJR but the handling was wonderfully neutral and I was tearing up the twisties with full confidence within an hour in the saddle.

I used to ride a goldwing so I wouldn't rent one, especially after being used to the FJR. I cannot recommend the BMW enough.

good luck and enjoy

When are you gonna be here?

I would say 4-5 or 6

R
Sometime Mid March or very early April. There will be three of us. Should i shoot you a PM when I know the dates?