in the company of fast women

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Riona

Reaction score
Just got back from a Women's Track School day at "The Ridge Motorsports" Circuit in Shelton, WA. I scored a couple of firsts: my first time on a track and my first time as a pillion rider on the back of someone else's bike.

The day was organized by Bellevue Ducati, who hired the track and schlepped the bikes down there in a truck. I chose to send my 06 Honda VFR Interceptor in the transport, and was in two minds about riding down on the FJR so I had both bikes at the track. However, it is 100 miles from where I live, and as a track novice I wasn't sure what state I would be in to ride back after the day, so I "caged it down the slab" and left the FJR for another time. I think it was good that I just had the VFR to worry about, because changing bikes between sessions would have lowered the learning curve I achieved by focusing on just one bike.

There were 4 groups of riders down there (advanced, intermediate, new rider and the women's track school) and we took turns in having 20 minute sessions on the circuit. The women's group got the added benefit of instructors and instruction from 2Fast performance riding school ( www.2-fast.org). We had a classroom session, and then immediately got out on the track to practice during our session, followed by a debrief with our instructor, then back into the classroom. Wash, rinse and repeat 6 times.