Please someone stop the noise

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lunch truck larry

Reaction score
  • My Nolan helmet (N104) is to loud ! Every time I go out, I have to put those little yellow marshmallow things in my ears just to hear myself think ! So could someone please stop the noise! Does some make a super quiet helmet ??? Or is the way to go with some kind of high tech ear piece? If anybody could add some "noise" on this subject I would appreciate it.

If you wish to stay with a modular helmet, then the Shoei Neo Tech and the Schuberth C3 Pro are consistently rated as the quietest. I've been wearing a Schuberth C3 for over four years and just recently got a Neo Tech. I think they are about the same when it comes to noise. A modular helmet is going to be louder then a normal full face, I also have a Shoei 1100 and I think it is marginally quieter than the modulars. I think overall the Shoei seems a nicer helmet. Just feels more substantial to me and the interior is plusher.

The noise can be reduced a great deal by using a different windshield and adding some sort of wind deflector to the windshield. I have a Cee Bailey and a MRA X-creen wind screen spoiler. I can adjust that set-up so I'm riding in very calm air on a calm day. Add a little cross wind and the noise level goes up a great deal.

Your problem is nothing that a boat load of money just might fix.

+1 to wearing hearing protection regardless of helmet. You won't/can't solve the harmful and tiring noise levels (from wind) by changing helmets.

I have a C3, generally considered to be one of the quietest modulars. I don't have a barn door screen, but if I duck down, it goes very (relatively) quiet.