Attention scofflaws!

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Uncle Hud

Just another blob of protoplasm using up your oxyg
Reaction score
Fellow motorcycle enthusiasts, you can now legally run red lights in Georgia: https://chronicle.augusta.com/news/government/2015-04-03/ga-lawmakers-approve-motorcycle-change

As a 35-year traffic engineer, I will hazard a guess that there are fewer that 50 traffic lights in this entire state that operate based on the weight of a vehicle. Most agencies use electromagnetic detectors or less-reliable video cameras, but the "don't weigh enough" language could have been interjected by a doofus Chronicle reporter rather than by a doofus state legislator.

My favorite line in the story: “You were sort of durned if you do and durned if you don’t,” he said [state Rep Alan Powell, R-Hartwell]. Yep, he said "durned".

And I am going on the record by stating my FJR, all 600-odd pounds of her (depending on whether I'm carrying my coffee thermos), is too light to trigger any and all red lights in the Peach State.

Y'all be careful out there. I might be running a red light near you.

99% of stop lights in Indiana will not change with just me at the light, while trying to turn left.

I'm an early morning rider and I wait until there are no cars and turn on red.

I believe current law says you have to wait thru one change and if it doesn't change on second try, you can go thru, once traffic is clear.

I believe current law says you have to wait thru one change and if it doesn't change on second try, you can go thru, once traffic is clear.