Canada route planning help

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

its just rain

Reaction score
Leaving from Western Washington early this summer I'm taking off to Minneapolis doing as much of the route that I can via Canada. My first destination is Calgary for a few days then east. My plan is to go through Banff National Park on the way to Calgary to take advantage of my "free" Canada Parks pass. Everyone keeps telling me it is a must see and if it's as beautiful as the rest of B.C. then I don't want to miss it.

Here is where you friendly Canadians can help me. This is my first time through Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba so I have no idea where to head after I leave Calgary. All I do know is that I want to avoid your Highway 1 if at all possible. Or, I suppose I could just head south out of Calgary and ride across Montana and North Dakota. However, I've really come to appreciate you folks up there and the thought of staying north of the border as long as I can really appeals to me.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Garry

Where are you crossing the border into Canada? You're already past much of the great British Columbia and Alberta riding by the time you hit Calgary on the way to Winnipeg. LOTS of great stuff in central BC that you shouldn't miss. You will also NEED to swing north (and west) to ride through Jasper.

Work in the Revelstoke/Nakusp area; great riding. Radium Hot Springs/ Kootenay Park; also a great time. Detour on to HWY 742 south from Canmore thru the Kananaskis Range and then take HWY 40 back north to Hwy 1 to Calgary. And please don't tell anyone about how great riding in Canada can be......shhhh!

I'll leave the others to route planning--west of Calgary it's all pretty damned awesome. As for Calgary itself, if you can get a reasonable rate and are staying in a hotel I highly recommend: