D & D Risers

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brazos parker

What??
Reaction score
I've been riding my '05 for abt 2 1/2 months now w/ no particular comfort issues regarding the riding position (6'3" w/ 34" inseam) but I have the D&D risers in my farkle box. I'm thinking of installing these to compare riding positions w/ and w/out. When I do the install, do I use blue locktite on the bottom 1/3 of the bolts?

Thanks, Guys.

BP - I used loctite (blue) on all of the bolts (6 ea side) yeah, bottom half. Heck, I should probably buy stock in the company. If you make a mistake and need to remove the bolt it's no problem. It's just meant to help keep the bolt from vibrating loose. Just don't use the red loctite unless you want the bolt to be permanent! I just installed the D&Ds last Thu and am happy with them.

Funny, I have some loctite which I got from my employer when I used to fix office machines for a living. It is the type which is intended to allow you to remove things after you use it, like the blue stuff you are talking about, but the stuff I have is red and comes in a small red plastic bottle. Mine is probably 15 years old and I use it a lot. Guess I'd better read the package if I need to buy some in the future.

Geezer - I don't like to post stuff that's wrong, so I went to a couple of sites on the internet (and you know everything you see on the net is true!) and here's what I found: