Handle bar position options (09 ABS

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rheal

Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been riding my 09 ABS (Canadian) for 1 1/2 months now with the standard seat and standard bar setup. I have no short term plans to swap seats ... too many other higher priority add-ons I need first and a limited budget naturally. I do love the bike but am not 100% happy with the ridding position, but am not experiencing much wrist fatigue with some mid to high back fatigue. I am not happy with the bar angle though .. I would like them swept back just a wee bit. It seems to me my wrists are not in a natural position with the bars as is. I ordered and received a set of GenMar risers 1 1/2 weeks ago. Bad weather and other duties have prevented me from installing these. I have no garage so I must work out of doors. By looking at the FJR service manual (my first purchase), seems to me that suggests the bars can be installed in a number of ways, depending on where we place the 2 mounting pints (3 holes available per pin):

forward (use both forward most pin positions)
mid (as supplied: mid pin position used)
back or closer to the rider (use both rear most pin positions)
AND rotated back or forward. (I am speculating the outside pin would be in rear most position and inside pin would be either in the mid position or the forward position)
There has been no mention that I can find in the Forum on rotating the bars back. Am I reading the service manual incorrectly? Am thinking of of rotating the bars back ... thus bringing them back 1 to 2 inches I'd guess PLUS install the GenMar risers for a 1" rise or so.

- Am I dreaming here or are these viable options?

- Has anyone else tried this or a similar setup?

Thanks in advance.