Hella FF50 / Fuzeblock

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

0Face

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm an electrical novice but I just ordered Tracy Martin's Book CLICK to help my education. I'm not a complete knucklehead. I'm pretty good taking things apart and putting them back together again. I've done the TBS, plugs, etc. I've had my laptop apart to clean out the dust from the fan, and solder on a new power jack. I got that back together. I'm not sure why they needed those three extra screws though. I could of saved them some money. ;)

I'm hoping I didn't miss the answers to my questions, I searched all over the Forum. If i missed them just point me to the thread. :huh:

OK, I'm installing the hella FF50's w/garauld's brackets (which are awesome along with his luggage rack).

I'm going to use the FuzeBlock so I can add more stuff later. I plan on using a DPDT switch for the on-off-on w/high beam configuration.

To the FuzeBlock I'm going to run the VDC(?) power from the battery, with a 30A fuse near the battery. I'll probably take the VT (switched?) power from a tail light (closer to where I want to mount the Block). The light setup will be powered when the bike is on via the FuzeBlock. I'll tap into the highbeam to power the lights when the DPDT is switched that way.

The lights are 55watts each and the output of a single FuzeBlock out shouldn't be over 10A. Correct me if I'm wrong but 110W/12V = 9.17A right?

Sound OK so far?

I'm not quite sure how to connect it all together to the DPDT switch. Do I have to run it all through the Hella relay? I looked at this thread CLICK but it's still a little confusing. I found this thread too CLICK. But I'm still a little stumped.

The diagram of the switch is helpful in the first link but I need a little more explanation of the relay and how it relates to what I'm trying to do.