I’m new here.

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trialsguy

FJR Supporter
Reaction score
Thanks for accepting me into the FJR Forum.

I live in south east Wisconsin.

I’ve been riding since 1969, and currently ride a ‘16 Ninja 1000SX sport touring bike. I’d like to transition to something more comfortable, for rides longer than 2 hours at a crack. I also motorcycle camp. I ride solo, as my wife is not at all interested in riding. From what I’ve read so far, a used FJR might be the answer to having a more comfortable, and more roomy bike, to travel solo with camping gear.

So, I’m in the hunt for a used FJR, looking to get one by May 2024.

Thanks again.

-trialsguy

Welcome. I have been riding FJR's for almost 14 years and have put close to 450,000 km (280,000 mi.) on the two that I have owned. I never had a serious issue with either of them. Short local rides, long distance touring and quite a few camping trips. I also ride solo - my wife also doesn't like to ride either. If you do most of your own maintenance, this bike is pretty easy to work on and there is a wealth of on-line help (and history) here and elsewhere.

There are some pretty good deals to be had on used FJRs and don't be afraid of something with 50,000 miles or more on it, as long as it hasn't been abused.

If you ask me (and you didn't....:)) the sweet spot in the FJR model years are 2014 & 2015 and since they are ~10 years old, there should be some excellent deals out there.

My reasons are they have the 5 speed transmission and cruise control. Guys who have the 6 speed (2016 and newer) like them but Yamaha did a recall of all the 2016 machines to do a software tweak and replace some internal transmission parts.