Pelican TopCase

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Further

Reaction score
So I got my ’08 FJR in late Spring and spent a good 6 weeks adding multiple farkles, most of which I got advice and inspiration from on this forum. I can’t tell you what a great resource you all are. As good or better than the great online community for BMW’s, which I accessed for the previous 14 years I rode K bikes. Thanks !!!

It’s time to try to give back. I’m not a great mechanic or fabricator, but I did come up with this one idea.

FJR%20w-topcase.jpg

FJR%20w-topcase2.jpg

When my wife and I discovered how small the FJR bags are on the inside, compared to the outside, (who the hell thought double walls was a good idea?), we faced having to get a topcase larger than I would like.

I hate topcases. Aesthetically they don’t look great, plus they put weight just where you DON’T want it. And I especially dislike the look of most of the ones I see today… gimonga tall and shaped like mutant gumballs.

I wanted the smallest, least obtrusive bag I could find that would hold a good amount of stuff. Thus… a Pelican case. They’re fairly cheap and strong, and come in a vast array of shapes and sizes. The one I settled on is the 1510NF pictured above, (NF means No Foam). The price can’t be beat, $119 at: Pelican-Case.com https://www.pelican-case.com/15cawinofo.html

It’s a standard airline approved carry-on. I removed the wheels and the exterior sliding handle thingy, and the larger front handle – leaving the smaller side handle. I had to Dremel off a few of the raised mount knobs on the bottom too. It’s not beautiful, but it has a very small profile from the side and it looks kinda "business-like". Like, “I’m ready for the Dempster Hwy, if I could just find some knobbies for my FJR.