strange electrical buzzing when running

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

R1nstang

Reaction score
hey guys,

im more of a lurker than a poster since im new to the FJR, not new to yamaha though. if you have 09-14 R1 questions then ask me anything haha. But i bought the 2007 FJR used with 69K miles on it. Runs great, but theres a few things i have questions about that i've asked on the FJR enthusiasts page on facebook but the ones trying to help me hadn't a clue what it could be, so i figured not everyone has signed with the devil and gone to facebook yet so ill post on the good ol forums.

question 1. When the bike is idling there is a distinct "electrical" buzz noise coming from under the tank area, maybe the front, i took a video of it and will attach it here

i havent torn into the bike too far, but i have removed the AIS system and blocked everything off with vaccum caps. I went to yamaha and they claim all recalls have been done on the bike, ignition issue, and the spiders, but well, just cause their system says it was done doesn't mean everything was done proper. The buzzing doesn't seem to affect anything at all. I keep the bike on a charger when im not riding it, so i cant say if the battery is getting drained. IF i turn the key ON but dont start the bike, there is no buzz, the second i start the bike the buzz shows up though.

any ideas?