Zhiyun Z1 Rider 3 axis gimbal for GoPro

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rdrasher

Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience with gimbals?

I'm looking for tips on using this thing.

I just bought a 3-axis gimbal called a Rider Z1 by Zhiyun.

It fits my GoPro and is supposed to be awesome for creating steady video shots.

I'm looking to get some cool on bike video during my 6 state ride through the Southeast in 2 weeks.

Hopefully I can get a few practice rides in with this gimbal before the trip, so I can work out the best mounting spots and angles to video from.

4tcUy01l.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I have no experience with this model, so can offer no direct tips on it's usage. Because I have a quest to find an inexpensive bike mounted pendulum system I will be very interested how this works for you.

I have used various bike camera mounts for action cams and have even tried to adapt a Moza AirCross gimbal. They all work to a certain degree, but none have been that 'magic' mount. I think your first challenge will be the mounting location and attachment method. In the description of the Rider Z1 by Zhiyun it says a movement can be easily restricted by simply holding the axis for 1 second. This is interesting.

What I want is to mount the camera in a forward looking position, then allow only the roll axis to function, which would then be a pendulum. As the bike leaned in the turns, the camera would remain level with the horizon. The pan and tilt should remain locked to follow the bike direction.