Best Place to Mount a Stebel Horn?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Violione

Sir Loin of Beef
Reaction score
The wifes V-Strom had a Stebel air horn installed but she said it scarred the shit out of her every time she used it and so she won't blow the horn. She asked me to take it off her bike and I said SURE HONEY.... so I did and luckily the OEM horn was still intact on the Strom (cool).

[side Bar - I am a musician and I have a sound level meter; the stock V-Strom horn (1 round Fiamm) sounded at 98 db, the FJR's two, two tone round horns sounded at 105 db and the Stebel sounded at 109 db. for every 3 db the sound is twice as loud which means that the Stebel is twice as loud as the OEM horns on the FJR and over three times as loud as the V-Strom OEM horn.]

So back to my question; where is the best place to mount the Stebel horn on an 06 AE? And ODOT - don't even think about replying with ... up my butt! :glare: Wanker!

V.

Lotsa links throughout this thread

Course, I'm function over form kinda guy:

3302053084_01f3eae202.jpg

3302053092_b3cb32216b.jpg

3302053098_3e64bb6e25.jpg

really loud in conjunction with the Fiamm disc replacements for the stock horns

I can blow them separately or at the same time with a toggle switch and using the stock horn button

I do plan to paint all the bare metal stuff flat black soon

Cheers,

Mike in Nawlins'

I have no advice or suggestions for this particular blow job other than I just was drawn like a moth to the flame by the title of your thread. :D

Last edited by a moderator:
Patriot,