Buy a 2005 or 2006?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GordoS

Reaction score
Greetings -

I am real close to buying a used FJR. Right now I've got two bikes lined up, a 2005 w/ ABS and 18K miles (and a few "farkles" - heated frips, VStream screen) and a stock 2006 A w/ 8100 miles. I have researched and researched and understand the "technical" differences & issues between the 05 & 06. I also notice that while the 2006 fixed the 2004/05 heat & tick issues, it also introduced altitude & ignition switch issues. The price diff is about $1900 between the two ($7100 vs $9000) so the questions really come down to opinion of value, and since I have no experience in this area, I need some help.

Does the 10000 miles matter? I''ll be using it for a daily commuter, adding about 40 miles a day.

Are the updates between the two years "worth" $1900? Like the linked brakes, cockpit, gauges (I like the gear indicator), skinnier, etc.

I have a "shorter" inseam at 30 inches (I'm 5-8). I have yet to throw a leg over the 2005, since it is about 1.5 hours away, but while the "low" seat setting on the 2006 doesn't get me "flat footed" it is close enough to be comfortable. Tech specs say the 2005 is an inch or so taller than the 2006 "low" -- how noticable is this? I demoed a 2004 with a Corbin seat, and that seemed to fit well - how would a stock 2005 fit compared to this?

Thanks, Gordon