Good Place to stay in Northern California

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caryb

Reaction score
The family is going to be doing some sight seeing in Northern California in Mid August. Specifically, we will be driving from San Francisco to the Humboldt Redwood forest. I was thinking that the town of Fort Bragg on the coast might be nice but I have no experience in that part of the state.

Any advice would be appreciated.

CaryB

You can't go wrong in any of those towns Cary.

Fort Bragg and Mendocino both nice and seemingly have enough Hotels and Motels for the need NOT to book in advance -- we've found anyway.

If you want to go real cozy though, the town of Elk is cool. Couple of miles below int. of hwy 1 and 128. The main street is about 2 minutes long but I think there's a B & B somewhere there.

Last edited by a moderator:
The family is going to be doing some sight seeing in Northern California in Mid August. Specifically, we will be driving from San Francisco to the Humboldt Redwood forest. I was thinking that the town of Fort Bragg on the coast might be nice but I have no experience in that part of the state.
Any advice would be appreciated.

CaryB
There are lots of motels in Fort Bragg, Eureka and here and there along Highway 101 through the redwoods north from Leggett. And there are B&B's all up and down the coast. Ferndale and Eurkea are hotbeds of B&B-ing.

You say you're driving. I hope that doesn't mean you won't be on the FJR. Those are some of the finest motorcycle roads in the world, especially California Highway 1 north from San Francisco to Leggett, and the county roads south of Ferndale on down past Cape Mendocino.

That's God's country. You'll have a great time, no matter what.