• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to FJRForum and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

Looking for a rear wheel...

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coachpilot

Reaction score
'17 ES. Don't care what color, even from other Gens, as long as it's a bolt on.
Mine is fine but thinking about putting the 3/4 baked tires on it for local highway slabbing.
Thanks and Happy Holidays!

Not sure of this but it's been talked that early ABS wheels will work you just have to change the ABS ring. Thoughts anyone?

Not sure of this but it's been talked that early ABS wheels will work you just have to change the ABS ring. Thoughts anyone?
Not 100% sure, but I thought that 2008+ could be modified for '04 to '07 ABS, but not the other way around. I have no direct knowledge, but I remember a fairly recent discussion...

ABS Wheel Discussion - Link

(Post #6)

Here's the deal. Starting in the 2004 US models all the wheels have a machined shoulder on the left side of the front wheel and the right side of the rear wheel. The toothed ABS ring was pressed onto that shoulder from 2004 & 2005 on the ABS models, and in 2006 & 2007 for all models when ABS became standard. But even the non-ABS 2004 & 2005 models wheels have that machined shoulder.

Beginning in 2008 thru present the ABS ring changed to a flat magnetic ring that is retained by three screws.
All wheels (front and rear) from 2008 thru present still have the machined shoulder, but also have three raised bosses on the hub with threaded holes for those screws retaining the ABS ring.

So, all wheels (front and rear) from 2004 US thru present are backward compatible to the 2004 thru 2007 scooters because they all have the machined shoulder to retain the pressed on toothed ABS ring.