Motorcycle Camping - Where to Start? Try Here!

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hppants

Reaction score
A lot of people have asked me questions about motorcycle camping. I’ve been touring this way for about 4 years and have taken many camping trips all over the country. That doesn’t make me an expert, but I’ve learned a few things along the way and thought I would share my experiences with you. I do recognize that there are many ways to skin this cat, and welcome any contribution any of you may have to this thread.

Throughout this thread, a re-occurring theme should jump out and grab you:

LESS IS BETTER THAN MORE!

The more I do this, the more I realize that I really need a whole lot less than I think. Less means less cost, less weight, less space, less to clean and keep up with. Less is better than more.

Campground Selection:

To me, WHERE you camp is as important as HOW you camp. Of course, we all want to choose a place to camp that offers great scenery. But I have learned that there are many other factors to look at. There are some exceptions, but overwhelmingly, the public campgrounds are far better than the privately owned ones. They are larger with bigger sites, better maintained, usually contain less people within them, and generally less expensive than their privately-owned counterparts.

Federal public campgrounds are found in the National Parks and National Forests. However, the best camping areas I have found are the ones run by the Army Corp of Engineers. These are the cleanest and least used, which makes them more pristine. You can also find public campgrounds at State Parks, State Recreational Areas, and even Municipal parks.