Need Help Finding a Momentary OFF Switch

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KnuckleHead

Freedom isn't free.
Reaction score
Ok, I have posted a few times on my problems with my HID set ups. I am on my second one now (first was a Chinese set off of eBay and I just recently put in a set from DDM Tuning). My problem is that about 50% of the time only one of the lights will fire up. Normally, if I turn the bike off and restart I can get the second light to light up. Sometimes it takes more the a few tries. I thought that this was a problem with the cheap eBay ballasts, but I am having the same problem with my DDM set.

Now, I am no electrician or wrench, but I do know that when cranking over, the starter takes a lot of power. I am thinking that it is not leaving enough juice around to fire up both HID's constantly. So to test this theory, I fired up the bike this AM. Sure enough, only one light lit. I then pulled the fuse from the HID harness. The burning light when dark. Put the fuse back in and bam, both lights came on.

So, my solution to the problem is to get a small momentary switch. Splice it into the power wire for the HID's (after the fuse). The switch will normally be in the "on" position and when pressed will go in the "off" position. I can then hold that for a few seconds and release it, lighting up the lights.

Here comes the reason for the post. I have spent hours searching the internet for someplace that sells a switch like I described. I have found a few, but they were at wholesale places that either don't sell to the public or only sell in bulk. Thank you, but I really don't need 1000 of them.