radio and gps

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

builderwill

Reaction score
First off let me start by saying I'm new to this farkling stuff, techo-challenged and cheap. However, I would like get some gps and also upgrade from my little AAA powered MP3 player with POS helmet speakers. Could barely ever hear anything above the wind noise.

So after some review of alot of good stuff on this board I'm leaning to install this radio along with a nuvi 750. The 750 seems reasonably priced and has the mp3 player with navigation voice prompts that overide the music. I was planning to pug the output of the 750 into the aux input of the radio. I'd then run the output of the radio to these things. I wouldn't be able to listen to FM while navigating, but I can live with that. I'm also not interested in any other audio. The phone gets shut off while I ride and I've never much trusted radar detectors.

I'd appreciate anyone's comments, particularly with the gps as I've never owned before. I'm estimating I can get all this for about 350 plus whatever the auxillary electrical components would be.

I think you should get the Hot Pink ones, or maybe the Purple ones.

And thats about all the eletrical help I can give.

Also techo-challenged!

By the time you buy another Nuvi and then another one becaue the vibration and weather on the bike is tearing them up, you'll realize you should have coughed up the Zumo money in the first place. You might find a refurb Streetpilot out there still, but I don't know which ones have MP3.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well, it looks like you are spending the big bucks, relatively speaking, on a rugged waterproof radio, and skimping on a GPS that is not waterproof. Personally, I dislike having to pull over to wrap a baggie on my electronics every time it starts to rain.