An IPA For Me

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FJRPittsburgh

Rally Addict
Reaction score
I graduated to drinking IPAs after many years of experimenting with craft brews from all over the world. I've noticed that lagers and other beers now taste like crap. Have I ruined my taste buds? A couple of the beers brewed from Great Lakes Brewery have won me over. Commodore Perry and Burning River are both awesome. Anyone else experience this taste bud dilemma?

Get a hold of Bells Hopslam...if you can find it. It's worth the $$$$. Great Lakes may be the best known in the Cleveland area, but there are some great small breweries, turning out some great IPA's...and with IPA's, the fresher, the better. Stay thirsty my friend.

Last edited by a moderator:
I underwent a medical procedure that screwed up my sense of taste. IPAs now taste like pure grapefruit juice. Beer in general has lost its allure. Irish whiskey is still good.

I see more double posts on this forum than all the others I'm on combined. Must be a software glitch.

We have so many breweries here now that it's hard to say which IPA is my favorite. Stay tuned, I haven't tried them all yet. Other brews don't interest me anymore either

I've graduated to Porters, as 20years of IPAs left me wanting something new. Elysian Porter in the PNW is my current fav, but frankly, i'll gladly drink a lager or a corona if its placed in front of me.

About 7 years ago, I gave up drinking horse piss and now would prefer to have one to three beers that actually taste good. However for the most part, I find IPAs too hoppy and bitter for my liking. I will still try a lager every now and then, but what I really like are the Ambers, preferably on tap. When I travel on the bike, one of the things I really look forward to is finding a local amber to try.