Changed CCT but now won't start --HELP

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FJR98008

Reaction score
Well, today I decided to change my CCT due to a rattling noise by the cam chain area. My 03' FJR has about 25,xxx miles, has always started right up and smooth riding, synthetic oil change regularly, as a local firefighter, I've takened it on service runs to OR and CA to assist in forest fires, never any problems; BUT, today after I removed and installed the new CCT, the bike cranks but won't turn over. No fault codes in the diagnostic readout. Changed the spark plugs just in case, but to no avail. Just cranks, like it's trying to start with all normal dash readouts. The only funny/scary thing was that after I had changed the plugs and tried to start it, it backfired and then the engine went right back to trying to start.

If the cam chain jumped a tooth etc. thus causing the engine to just crank but not start-

1. are my valves now bent or

2. can I remove the valve cover and cam cover (first I need to learn how to do this), set everthing to TDC, install a new chain and am good to go.. or

3. bite the bullet and pay the pro's.

Any suggestions are much appreciated.

Thank you,

Duke

I'm sorry I can't sugarcoat this response for you, really!

When you remove the CCT, it's very easy for the cam chain to "bunch up" at the crank sprocket IF... you did not use wire ties to secure the cam chain to the crank sprocket before removing the CCT.

Did you remove the right side cover over the cam chain and tie it? If not, you will be removing the camshafts and re-doing the entire timing. Or you will be paying someone else to do it and praying nothing is bent/damaged.

The FJR will tolerate a 1-tooth error in timing without damaging valves, but it typically will run with that error, albeit poorly. I don't think 2-teeth off is survivable.