How much weight from the FJR can I reasonably reduce?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rocketman0

Reaction score
I start to look for a recent FJR, may be the 2014. I have been riding since 1996. The only thing I'm concerned is the weight. I'm riding a Honda CBR-1100XX which is about 550 lbs wet. I'm not really sure I can handle another 100 lbs more (due to health reason), but I do really really like the 14 FJR. I tried to sit on a FJR in the show room and it was definitely a lot harder just to stand it up from the sidestand comparing to my Blackbird (and that was with the fuel tank empty). We'll see.

I'm wondering how much weight I can reduce from it? For example, by removing the 2 hard bags and replace the exhaust with a lighter one (and to the extreme, by filling up the gas tank with 1 gallon less = 7 lb)? Is it reasonable to hope to cut 50 lbs off?

Thanks.

Not much. To do so would probably result in you having a bike that isn't what the FJR was meant to be; a sport-touring bike with side bags will be heavier than a sport bike like a CBR.

You'd be better served getting a bike designed to your needs than to buy an FJR and try to make it something it isn't. The drive shaft alone is a weight that would be reduced by picking a bike with a chain drive. Maybe a Sprint-ST? Or add bags to your CBR?

The FJR wet weighs in at 638 lbs.

The side bags...12 lbs each

One gallon of unleaded...6.4 lbs

Exhaust cans ...10 lbs each.

These weights may not be exact, but close enough.

All totaling a gross weight reduction of 50.4 lbs approx.

What the replacement cans weight is an unknown.

I hope this helps.

A few more pounds can be shaved by using a Lithium-Iron battery, and the comes off the high-front area of the bike where it counts. Also, don't forget to use block-off plates and get rid of the AIR system.