Is Yamalube 10 w 40 OK in Northern Illinois?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
guys, I changed the oil and filter yesterday and as I was tossing the empty bottles realized I'd purchased and filled the '06 with Yamalube 10 w 40. Full synth

the ambient here in No IL is 50-85 degrees for a few more weeks

yes. that's the question. thanx. ( sheepish / embarrassed emoji goes here)

Last edited:
Thanx!!!!! I'm new to FJR world and needed to be certain.
For what its worth, I usually use a synthetic 5W40 non-motorcycle oil (but JASO MA/MA2 certified) in my current 2011 FJR with 100,000 miles. (And almost 200,000 miles on my '07, before I sold it.) Personally, I think any multigrade oil with the JASO cert (wet clutch compatible) and the second number 40 or 50 will be good. Some people claim that their bike may not "like" certain oils (notchy shifting for some) but I haven't had any issues. Certainly haven't experienced any evidence of unusual wear. Oil-related problems are extremely rare, unless someone chooses to use one with "energy-conserving" components which may cause slippage in a wet clutch. Stick with a quality oil with the appropriate certifications and avoid the use of "additives" which, at best, improve the performance of the seller's wallet.

guys, I changed the oil and filter yesterday and as I was tossing the empty bottles realized I'd purchased and filled the '06 with Yamalube 10 w 40. Full synth

Good choice. Shop manual for my 2010 specifies same. Except they omitted Full Synth.

What was the question?