Ride In Rain?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BobbyBlue

Arrhythmia and Blues
Reaction score
As my other bike IS my other car I ride rain or shine. Down here in S. Tejas the weather is mostly sunny, but I have no qualms about riding in rain. Alot of folks, yankees and yuppies mosly, ask me about this alot on rainy days. Being a military brat, I started riding in the UK and if you cant handle rain you dont ride. Other than slowing down a little I dont modify too much and I ride a non ABS bike. Any opinions?

Bobby

I don't mind riding in the rain... sort of appreciate it when it's really hot in that it cools things down. I have ABS and Avon tires... and that gives me a bit of confidence. Something I wonder about, I think I'm less likely to hydroplane on the bike than when in the cage, but don't know that for sure. I do know that when I went through 2 very heavy downpours a couple of months ago, I saw some cages that hydroplaned a bit whereas I didn't. Maybe it's the fact that the bike has more of it's weight on a smaller contact patch. Any fact or opinions on this? :Snorkle:

It's easier to dodge the stagnant waters on a bike than in a car. Hydroplaning doesn't happen if you stay out of the rain grooves.

Hydroplaning on a bike is scary! :blink:

I ride in the rain. If it's really bad I'll stop and wait it out, but usually I'm too impatient and keep believing it will get better in 5-10 miles. Eventually I'm right.

If it occurs on a trip, no prob. Have rain suit, will travel. I won't, however, purposely head out into it if I can avoid it. I postponed a trip to visit my daughters in NC for that reason-the weather looked like shit so I put it off until fall. I ride for pleasure, not out of neccessity, so why subject myself and the bike to unpleasant conditions if I don't have to?