Way more than you ever wanted to know about oil

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Crivens

Reaction score
I tried to add this to the "Never-Ending Pointless Recurring Threads" but I can't create a new topic there. Perhaps an admin would be kind enough to move it and delete this paragraph?

After reading some of the numerous “Engine Oil” threads I thought I would try to shed some light on a few of the misconceptions and misunderstandings about motor oil.

First the disclaimer: I am not a petroleum engineer or a chemist, however I have had cause and the inclination to study motor oils, their performance characteristics and related information, in depth.

If you ask anyone to tell you why an engine needs oil they will most likely know it is to provide lubrication for moving parts.

Seems pretty straight forward: We put oil in our engines because it is slippery and metal things moving next to other metal things need something slippery between them right? That is true as far as it goes. But if that where the only consideration we would be having long discussions center around the film strength of our preferred brand rather than debates over the best viscosity and the negative effects of friction modifiers.

While providing lubrication is motor oils primary job it is not its only job. Not by a long way.