Questions for those with an MBA

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Topspeed

Reaction score
I'm currently contemplating returning to school to get an MBA and have a few questions for those of you who have one. You know, the usual questions, was it worth it? What if any specialization do you have? Are you actually using it in your current employment etc?... I'd greatly appreciate any thoughts you might have. Reply here or by PM.

Topspeed

The only recommendation I have is to work while obtaining it, unless someone else is footing the bills for you, and thereby lessening the opportunity cost in your mind. That's what I did, under the (no longer available) "Flex" plan at Rice. Same program, not a watered down exec program, but three years to complete, rather than 2. PITA while doing it, but glad I did.

Last edited by a moderator:
I completed my MBA at UT-Austin (McCombs School) a couple years ago. PM me your phone number and I'll be happy to call you to discuss my experience.

In general though, there are a lot of schools offering MBA degrees. What you want out of your degree will be the big factor in which one is right for you. Are you looking to change careers, advance to a management position in your current career, create a higher ceiling in your career, open your own business, etc?

My personal opinion is that most US employees would be better served by mastering a second language. I see it time and again here at my company. Those that speak the language of the emerging markets (Latin America & China) have a real leg up in their careers. If it was me, I'd do that first and then the MBA.

I completed my MBA at UT-Austin (McCombs School) a couple years ago....